Goanna Band

Goanna Band Bio

Goanna was an Australian rock group which formed in 1977 in Geelong as The Goanna Band with mainstay Shane Howard as singer-songwriter and guitarist. The group integrated social protest with popular music and reached the Top 20 on the Australian Kent Music Report Singles Chart with ‘Solid Rock’ (1982) and ‘Let the Franklin Flow’ (released under the name Gordon Franklin & the Wilderness Ensemble in 1983). Their debut album, Spirit of Place peaked at No. 2 on the related albums chart. They disbanded in 1987 and briefly reformed in 1998.

The Goanna Band were formed as an Australian folk-rock group by singer-songwriter and guitarist Shane Howard in Geelong, in 1977. Alongside Howard, the original line-up was Mike Biscan (guitar), Richard Griffiths (bass guitar) and Rod Hoe (drums). During their early years the line-up changed numerous times, with only Howard as the mainstay. In 1979, the group consisted of Howard, keyboardist & vocalist Rose Bygrave, lead guitarist & vocalist Warwick Harwood, bass guitarist Carl Smith, drummer Gary Crothall and vocalist & harmonica player Ian Morrison. They recorded the independent 12′ EP, The Goanna Band. The four-track EP was produced by Broderick Smith, ex-The Dingoes, and released on the EMI Music. By 1981 the band was now Shane Howard, Rose Bygrave, Warrick Harwood, Peter ‘Brolga’ Coughlan on bass guitar, Marcia Howard (vocalist & synthesisers), Graham Davidge (electric guitar) and Robbie Ross on drums. They had shortened the name to Goanna, and with their increasing popularity they attracted the interest of major record companies.

Know Something We Don’t?

Share information, posters, images etc, and we’ll add them to the artist’s page.

Let us Know

Artist Website


We See You’re a Fan of Goanna Band

Search Here to Find Your Next Favourite!

Generic filters
Exact matches only